1. Home
  2. Blog
  3. Diana Murphy Named USGA's Second Female President

Diana Murphy Named USGA's Second Female President

Posted by Dan Hauser on Monday, November 30th, 2015 at 6:54pm.

For only the second time in the over 100 year history of the United States Golf Association, one of the top golf organizations in the world will have a female president.

DIana M. Murphy will be officially named the next USGA president at the USGA's annual meeting February 6th, 2016. Murphy will join Judy Bell as the only women presidents in the history of the USGA. Bell was president from 1996 to 1997. Murphy will succeed current USGA president Thomas J. O’Toole Jr., and will serve a one-year term in the position.

Murphy, who is the managing director of Rocksolid Holdings, LLC, as well as the Georgia Research Alliance Venture Fund, has been a member of the USGA executive committee for nearly five years.

Murphy is no stranger to the top spot at the USGA. Her husband, Rog, served as president of the organization in 1994. Diana became a member of the USGA in 1996 as a member of the membership committee. From there she became a member of the executive committee in 2011 and went on to chair the commercial, compensation, finance and U.S. Senior Amateur Championship committees. She has also served as treasurer and vice president of the USGA.

Leave a Comment